LibrarianShipwreck

"More than machinery, we need humanity."

Plague Poems – The Two-Hundred-and-Fourth Week

The reports have confirmed
that last week
was the fifth in a row
in which the plague
claimed more than 2,000 lives
and though 10,000 deaths
is only one tenth
of an incalculable loss
each of those lives
was calculable to someone.

*

When admissions rose
the hospital reinstated
its mask mandate
and now
with admissions falling
the hospital is rescinding
its mask mandate
and before long
having failed to learn anything
this cycle will repeat.

*

I know, I know,
that I should probably
just try to enjoy
the music, the spectacle, the fashion
I know, I know,
but whenever I see
clips from an awards show
all I can think about
is how crowded the room is
and how few masks are present.

*

In all honesty
I don’t really miss
who I was before this
for I haven’t changed
particularly much
a few more gray hairs,
a bit more tired,
some outfit additions,
but who I am now
is mostly who I was,
what I miss
what I really miss
is who I thought
other people were
before this.

*

Editorial Note: This is a collection of Plague Poems written between February 3, 2024 and February 9, 2024.

They were initially posted online on X/Twitter at @plaguepoems, on Mastodon at @plaguepoems@mastodon.social, on Bluesky at @plaguepoems, on Threads at @plague_poems, and on Instagram at @plague_poems.

Throughout the duration of this crisis new poems will be posted regularly at the above mentioned accounts, they will then be collected and reposted here as weekly compendiums.

*

When you hear them say
they don’t know anyone
with Long Covid
remember that studies suggest
about 1 in 4 infected adults
experience persistent issues
so when they say
that they don’t know anyone
they are telling you
they don’t know anyone
who feels comfortable
confiding in them.

*

If they ask you
(and they will ask you)
why you are taking precautions
reply by telling them
“The virus is rampant.
We’re still in a pandemic.”
and if they ask
what makes you say that
tell them you were only quoting
the COVID-19 Technical Lead
of the World Health Organization.

*

I do not really know
what the end
of the pandemic looks like
though I feel confident
that more than 1,000 people dying
for twenty-one weeks in a row
is not what the end
of the pandemic looks like.

*

It is a serious problem
that this virus
is not going anywhere
though perhaps
the more serious problem
is that this virus
keeps going everywhere.

*

I used to be able to explain
why I was so exhausted:
I had stayed out late
or had to keep working,
I hadn’t slept enough
or the cats kept me up,
I could blame something,
but now when I try to explain
why I am so exhausted
all I can say is I’m exhausted
because I always am.

*

As he looks
at the empty seats
in the conference room
my boss opines
about how it used to be
that people came in
even if they were sick
and I want to tell him
that’s still what happens
when people
don’t have any sick days.

*

A systematic review
of eleven studies has found
that older adults
(those over sixty)
who have been infected
with COVID-19
have an increased risk
“of new onset-dementia”
and you need not be
yourself an adult over sixty
to find these results
extremely fucking worrisome.

*

My grandmother
always used to tell me
that you have to try
you have to really try
to see the good in people
and I am trying
I am really trying
but most of the time
when I look at people
all I can see
is that they can’t be bothered
to wear a mask in a pandemic.

*

The headline observed
“Thousands of seniors
are still dying of COVID-19.”
and then the headline asked
“Do we not care anymore?”
but the fact that this question
even needs to be asked
suggests that the answer is known.

*

Many are proud
of what they did
during the pandemic:
they masked and got vaccinated
they stayed in and tested often
but they will get upset
should remind them
that they are still
during the pandemic
after all, they did their part
they can’t be bothered
to keep doing it.

*

Studies suggest
if you are infected
the chance of developing
lasting symptoms
is about 1 in 4 or 25%
and while those odds
may make it seem
like the chance is low
it is worth admitting
that if the odds
of winning the lottery
were about 1 in 4 or 25%
you’d play everyday.

*

In the first year
of the pandemic
when they spoke
of the virus
they would tell us:
it’s going to be okay.

But here
in the fifth year
of the pandemic
when they speak
of the virus
they just tell us:
it’s going to be.

*

The me comes first
so say the health officials,
to think of yourself
as part of a we
is a such a relic
of the pandemic’s first year,
prioritize yourself
me over we
you do you
yes, now the me comes first,
and in other news
if you’re spelling measles
the me comes first there too.

*

A new study suggests
that between 2020 and 2023
the US may have undercounted
COVID deaths
by a significant margin
so when you hear them talk
of an incalculable loss
understand that what makes
these truly incalculable
is we don’t really know
the enormity of our loss.

*

I am not ashamed
to acknowledge my fear
for I have seen
what this virus has done
to so many others,
for I have not forgotten
what this virus has done
to me already,
and so I understand
that since this virus isn’t done
fear
is a rational response
to this fearsome virus.

*

In response
to my precautions
strangers often tell me
“you don’t need to do that”
and though I usually
just ignore their comments
I always want to tell them
that they are wrong
for taking care of each other
is something we need to do.

*

*

Plague Poems….the following week

Plague Poems…the first week

Plague Poems…the full list

About Z.M.L

“I do not believe that things will turn out well, but the idea that they might is of decisive importance.” – Max Horkheimer librarianshipwreck.wordpress.com @libshipwreck

2 comments on “Plague Poems – The Two-Hundred-and-Fourth Week

  1. Pingback: Plague Poems – The Two-Hundred-and-Third Week | LibrarianShipwreck

  2. dex3703
    February 20, 2024

    This one is especially good:

    In the first year
    of the pandemic
    when they spoke
    of the virus
    they would tell us:
    it’s going to be okay.

    But here
    in the fifth year
    of the pandemic
    when they speak
    of the virus
    they just tell us:
    it’s going to be.

    I’m glad we have a few poets who are awake, and documenting this. For who, I don’t know.

Leave a comment

Ne'er do wells

Archive

Categories

Creative Commons License