LibrarianShipwreck

"More than machinery, we need humanity."

Plague Poems – The Hundred-and-Ninety-Third Week

Should you ask
if I am planning
on taking precautions
for another year
I will tell you
I am not planning
on taking precautions
for another year
but I have every intention
of taking precautions
for another week
and if you ask me again
a week from now
I’ll give you the same answer.

*

I know, I know,
that I should be thankful
especially this week
I should be giving thanks
that it is now possible
to order another batch
of four free COVID tests
I should be thankful
and I am thankful
for it is at least something
but it is not enough.

*

The professor tells me
that today her lecture hall
was empty
but when I asked
if this meant all her students
were out sick
she explained that her students
were taking a break
from giving the virus to each other
this week they were going
to give the virus to their families.

*

It’s all so sickening
my friend declares
and when I ask if by this
she is referring
to the horrific news
or to the plague filled air
she responds by explaining
that when she said
it’s all so sickening
she really meant all of it.

*

Editorial Note: This is a collection of Plague Poems written between November 18, 2023 and November 24, 2023.

They were initially posted online on X/Twitter at @plaguepoems, on Mastodon at @plaguepoems@mastodon.social, on Bluesky at @plaguepoems, on Threads at @plague_poems, and on Instagram at @plague_poems.

Throughout the duration of this crisis new poems will be posted regularly at the above mentioned accounts, they will then be collected and reposted here as weekly compendiums.

*

Exhausted though you are
my weary friend
I know you are capable
of understanding
that multiple calamities
threaten us at once
there is the catastrophe
there is the plague
and you are probably
already aware that last Friday
for a moment
our planet passed
2° Celsius of warming.

*

When I tell him
that last week the virus took
more than a thousand lives
and that it was
the tenth week in a row
where so many died
he shrugged
and said that every week
thousands of people die
and I suppose
where we disagree
is that I think we should try
to reduce that number.

*

The supermarket is filled
with all the signs
of the upcoming holiday
turkeys and green beans
cranberries and potatoes
canned pumpkin and gravy
yes, the supermarket is filled
with all the signs
of the upcoming holiday
though it is also filled
with crowds of coughing shoppers.

*

According to
the wastewater sites
COVID levels
are rising yet again
just in time
for holiday travel
for holiday gatherings
and I really must say
(apologies for my language)
that I’m tired
I’m just so tired of this shit.

*

When I say
that the pandemic is not over
strangers inform me
that most people
that normal people
are going about their business
are living their lives
are refusing to worry
strangers tell me this
but I am already fully aware
that most people
ignore the suffering of others.

*

There seems to have been
some confusion
at the highest levels
clearly they misheard things
this is the time of year
for giving thanks
but those in power
seem quite convinced
that this is the time of year
for giving tanks.

*

To those who are
living in complacency
anyone who is trying
to live with consciousness
looks as though they are
living in fear.

*

My apologies
I do not wish to be
an alarmist, but I
have just seen a headline
which read: “Mystery
child pneumonia outbreak
reported in China hospitals”
and I must admit
that seems rather alarming.

*

In year one
it was dangerous
so we canceled
our gatherings.

In year two
we were careful
so we tested before
our gatherings.

In year three
we were shocked
when we fell ill after
our gatherings.

Now in year four
we’re over it
so we invite the virus to
our gatherings.

*

Do not worry
about which of your guests
will bring the green beans
and which of your guests
will bring the roasted yams
which of your guests
will bring the pumpkin pie
and which of your guests
will bring dinner rolls
no, worry instead
about which of your guests
will bring the virus.

*

I saw a headline
which helpfully noted
“As holiday season
gets underway, here’s how
to protect yourself
and your family
from respiratory viruses”
but should you try
to protect yourself
and your family
from respiratory viruses
you will be accused
of living in fear.

*

I am not so bitter and tired
as to be bereft of gratitude
I am thankful, truly thankful
to have made it to
the fourth Thanksgiving
of the pandemic
but how much more
thankful, truly thankful
I would be
if this pandemic
had not already lasted
for four Thanksgivings.

*

My friend
it is heartening to see
your expressions of gratitude
but in these dark times
it is not enough
to give thanks
no, in these dark times
what is necessary is
to give a damn.

*

My aunt, the doctor,
told me a joke:

What do you call
a pandemic
that people pretend is over?

I told her I did not know.
And so she said:

You call it
a pandemic.

And then
neither of us laughed.

*

There are deals to be had
impressive ones at that
you can save money
on televisions and clothes
on video games and books
on home goods and jewelry
and at many stores
if you join the eager crowds
there is even a chance
that you might be able
to get the plague.

*

When I ask her
if she had a good Thanksgiving
she tells me about the food:
the stuffing was excellent
the cranberry tart was divine
the new recipes were successful,
as for the company?
well, her aunt and uncle
coughed through the whole day,
but the food, the food was great.

*

I have heard it said
that the unnerving scenes
of hospitals overwhelmed
with cases of pneumonia
are not a result
of some strange new virus
but are instead a result
of lingering damage
from the virus we’re living with
and I confess I am unsure
if that makes me feel any better.

*

Every seamstress knows
if you let it rip
and do nothing
the tear will only widen
growing in size
until the whole fabric
is eventually destroyed
yes, every seamstress knows
if you let it rip
it will just keep ripping
until that is you decide
to finally mend the tear.

*

*

Plague Poems…the following week

Plague Poems…the first week

Plague Poems…the full list

About Z.M.L

“I do not believe that things will turn out well, but the idea that they might is of decisive importance.” – Max Horkheimer librarianshipwreck.wordpress.com @libshipwreck

One comment on “Plague Poems – The Hundred-and-Ninety-Third Week

  1. Pingback: Plague Poems – The Hundred-and-Ninety-Second Week | LibrarianShipwreck

Leave a comment

Ne'er do wells

Archive

Categories

Creative Commons License