LibrarianShipwreck

Libraries, Archives, Technology, Impending Doom

Discuss.

I went out Saturday night and in the midst of all sorts of fabulous things, I complimented this absolutely dapper butch on her bow tie.  Bow ties are cool.  One thing led to another, and I learned to tie a bow tie!

I mentioned this to the Tiniest Librarian, and he asked me if it was “for a practical reason or just because?”  I jokingly said that it was totally practical; a proper butch should perhaps know how to tie a bow tie, I’m pretty sure that’s in the handbook.

He replied to me, “Pretty things are objectively practical.”

My question for you all, then, my dear fellow eggheads — is the Tiniest Librarian right about that?

About oneofthelibrarians

Respectable librarian by day, dirty street librarian by night & other days.

4 comments on “Discuss.

  1. rose
    April 8, 2013

    Not in my experience. I have heaps of pretty things with no use – that little shiny box someone gave me that sits on the mantel piece and holds nothing, for instance (although it could). What does the tiniest librarian mean by objective?

  2. oneofthelibrarians
    April 8, 2013

    Rose — I don’t know, I didn’t ask. Maybe if we get really lucky he’ll chime in.

  3. T E Stazyk
    April 8, 2013

    I agree–if only by virtue of the function they perform by being pretty.

    Here’s an example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UnnbJESM7w

  4. sunaltin01
    August 17, 2013

    I love Bow ties (fluga). For the first time I tied it, I have to ask my girl friend to assist me. You know that was a nice experience. As I wish to tie her forever, but the problem is, that is still a secret hidden in my heart.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2013 by in Culture, Philosophy and tagged , , , .

Ne'er do wells

Archive

Categories

Creative Commons License

libshipwreck

